Spelling City

Spelling City is an excellent way of diverting your child’s iPad time to something educational! It is also a great for checking pronunciation and correct identification of parts of speech.

As of the second week of school, you will be able to find the class spelling lists posted on the homepage http://www.spellingcity.com/JCBITeacher/

Just click on the name of the relevant list (P4B 1 for example) and follow the links to play a range of games. Note, you do not need to sign up for an account yourself. I am not a premium member; the free version works well as it is.

Check out the list before you start playing games. Start with something like ‘alphabetize’ and then try something more complicated. Finish with ‘Test me’ to see how you did.

You can also download Spelling City as an app (for a small fee) to your device so that your child can practice their spelling on the go. To do this, I believe you need to have access to my password which I am happy to distribute if you contact me directly.

For more information go to: http://www.spellingcity.com/students-using-vocabulary-and-spellingcity.html

